ITIL Lifecycle: Service Design Training Course

In accordance with the ITIL® Service Design course syllabus, this ITIL Lifecycle Service Design course provides a complete management level overview of the various aspects of service design; including the managerial concepts and core information on the processes, roles, activities and techniques required to facilitate control within the service design stage of the service lifecycle. It also prepares students for the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Lifecycle Service Design (2011 edition).

ITIL Service Design Flier

Download ITIL Service Design Flier

Who Should Attend Our ITIL Lifecycle Service Design Training Course?

The course is suitable for individuals who require a deeper understanding of the service design stage of the service lifecycle and is particularly suited for those who are involved in service design environs, whether that is ongoing management, coordination and integration of design activities or those who need to understand how service design (as a lifecycle stage) needs to be implemented to ensure superior quality in the provision and support if IT services to their customers. It offers a natural career development path for those who already hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate. Before taking the course it is recommended, though not required, that candidates have an exposure to basic concepts in IT, and related work experience of at least two years. Delegates are required to hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management obtained from an accredited training provider, or the v2 to v3 bridge equivalent.

ITIL Lifecycle Service Design Objectives

The purpose of the service design course is to enable delegates to fully understand ITIL® design concepts and terminology, this leads into in-depth studies of the activities required to design service solutions appropriate to the needs of the business. These include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • The scope of service design
  • The business vale of service design
  • Creation and use of the service design package (SDP) and service acceptance criteria (SAC)
  • Service design models for differing service solutions
  • Requirements engineering (i.e. functional, operational and usability)
  • Service design roles and responsibilities
  • Tools that support service design, the various types and benefits therein
  • Prepares delegates for the ITIL lifecycle examination in service design (2011 edition).

Specifically to appreciate the reasons why a service provide (internal or external) needs to design customer facing IT based service solutions that meet the customer requirements – within constraints. Also to understand how to design those appropriate solutions to a level degree of effectiveness that ensures minimal improvement will be required during their lifecycle.

ITIL Lifecycle Service Design Structure

Classroom: This is an instructor-led classroom (physical or virtual) based course that uses a combination of lectures, group discussions, assignments and sample exams to reinforce the key learning topics, and is based on AXELOS Best Practice Guidelines as documented in the ITIL Service Lifecycle books (available for purchase separately).

eLearning: This is a self-paced online version of the course which uses recorded lectures, checkpoint tests and sample exams normally available for a 90-day licence. The exam is provided remotely online after the training.

Blended: This is a combination of eLearning and 4 regular 2-hour progress/revisions usually spread over 8 weeks

It is recommended that students should complete at least 21 hours of personal study by reviewing the syllabus and relevant books in preparation for the exam.

The ITIL Lifecycle Professional Qualification

The format for the exam paper is 8 scenario-based multiple-choice questions. They are gradient scored questions with one answer is worth 5 marks, the next best 3 marks, then 1 mark and a distracter that achieves no marks. It is a supervised, closed-book exam – the duration of which is a maximum of 90 minutes. Successful candidates will be awarded 3 credits towards the ITIL Expert qualification.

Fox IT provides the ITIL Lifecycle Service Design training course in the UK and around the world via our partners.

Contact us directly on the phone or we can get intouch with you →